RSS

Gamification in The Classroom

08 Sep

This term I am experimenting with gamifying one of my classes. Over the last few years I have identified a need for an online computer skills class which will allow students to brush up on their ICT skills above and beyond the time spent in class: either for remediation or enrichment.

I decided that this would be a good opportunity to play around with gamification. Spreadsheets, databases and the like can be very dry and off-putting, and yet they represent key skills both in school and beyond, for the world of work. By gamifying the course, perhaps I could leverage more engagement. I wanted to go beyond the usual points, badges and leaderboards. I would need to use the course to generate marks for the school reporting system in any case.

I was inspired by Paul Andersen’s TED Talk:

I immediately set about creating a framework within which students could work at their own pace through various exercises to hopefully master various computer applications such as spreadsheets, databases and so on. I decided to use a framing story, with a central riddle which needed to be solved. Here’s what I posted on the course Moodle page:

Professor Jane Muller of the Faculty of Astrophysics at Harvard University has discovered an anomaly at the heart of the Universe, which threatens to destroy the very fabric of the space-time continuum! The Möbius Effect, as Jane has called it, was set in motion by an alien race which eats off the resultant chaos.

It’s pretty complicated, but basically, if you think of Time as a Möbius band, a bit like a continual play car radio tape rather than a linear progression, then you’ll understand that what has happened before is about to happen again, but more so! And it will continue to happen, and to intensify until someone can figure out a way of making it stop. Professor Jane Muller might just be that person.

I said it was complicated. The actual formula is

Make sense?

Jane has figured out a way to get around that and make time go back to normal, or relatively normal anyway.

But she needs some help – and that’s where you come in!

A computer virus, probably released by the same alien race that set off the Möbius Effect in the first place, has corrupted all her files, and she needs someone, a bit of a computer boffin, like you, to help her put all her work back in order so she can get on with the job of saving the Universe!

Are you up to it?

Good!

To help Jane you will need to work though each of the levels below, until you become a Level 10 Geek Girl and can help solve the riddle at the heart of the Möbius Effect!

Level 1: Spreadsheet Suzie


The virus has taken out all Jane’s spreadsheet formulae, and without those formulae, her calculations will be way off!
Download each of the spreadsheets in turn, fix them according to the instructions Jane has left for you, and upload the file for Jane to continue with her work! You will be given experience points based on your performance.

You need 100 XP to become a Level 2 Geek-Girl

Each Spreadsheet completed correctly earns you 20 XP

Good Luck!

I then set up a number of levels, each one with a series of tasks to be worked through. Each task, successfully completed, earns the student experience points. After a certain number of experience points the player levels up. I tried to set up each task so that it was fairly self-contained, had some kind of logical link to the framing save the universe narrative, and covered the syllabus adequately.

I planned to scaffold the tasks in a number of ways:

  • in-class instruction and assistance
  • online SCORMs and videos
  • peer-metoring

Because all the tasks were set up on the class Moodle page, I was able to assign grades to each assignment. These grades are of course equated with experience points, but can be used as grades for reporting purposes. Because one can create a spreadsheet off Moodle, I plan to use this to create leaderboards created using a Mailmerge, together with the relevant badges earned.

This is the plan, but I know that I will need to tinker with it as I get feedback on how it is being received. I will follow-up with a blog on the programme in a few months.

 

7 responses to “Gamification in The Classroom

  1. olivia07

    March 24, 2014 at 9:51 am

    i liked it very much! thanks for sharing your thoughts

    Technology Writing Services Online

    Like

     
  2. 123 income academy review

    May 13, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Hi! I know this is kind of off-topic but I needed
    to ask. Does building a well-established website like yours take a massive amount work?
    I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

    Like

     
    • Dorian Love

      May 13, 2013 at 7:16 am

      Thanks for the comment. In fact it doesn’t take that much time at all. I write to help me think about what I am doing, so it is part of my reflective practice as a teacher, so I don’t see it as an extra chore. When I get too busy I just don’t write for a while. If I’ve got nothing to say, I don’t write, and when I have something to say, I write to get my thoughts clear!

      My advice would be simply to write and see how it goes. It will either develop a life of its own, or wither away. In any event you’ll get a sense of whether its something that helps you or not.

      The very best of luck, and please let me have the url of your blog!

      Like

       
  3. Leaderboarded

    January 18, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    Hey Dorian, Would love to hear how you are getting on with this? Did you know you can convert a spreadsheet into a leaderboard using Leaderboarded. Happy to help you use the tool if you want to try it. Cheers Toby

    Like

     
  4. Carmel Chetty

    November 10, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Fascinating!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
