RSS

Flipping Your Feedback

03 Mar

feedbackIn the past I have always struggled to fit in that all important feedback after a test. The temptation is to rush it so that one can forge ahead with new work, and going over a test in class is always a painful experience. Some students don’t need it, while others do, and the ones that do seldom attend as they should. It all ends up being a bit of an exercise in preaching to the converted.

So I decided to flip my feedback too. This is the exact opposite of my natural instincts. I learned early on as a teacher that feedback such as a marked script seldom gets read, and I have for a long time done most of my feedback in class, often on a one-on-one basis by marking essays in front of the student and talking them through my reaction to what they have written. In my English class I can do this while the class is doing something else, but in my computer classes this is not really possible. I have gotten into the habit of marking using the rubric modules on Moodle – and students seldom read these properly. So what I did was to take a screencast of myself doing the test, in this case a spreadsheet test. I then saved this in video format and posted on Moodle as the memo. My thinking behind this was that students could take what they needed from the video. If a student had gotten only one thing wrong they could fast forward to the part they needed. If they needed to watch the whole video, they could, pausing or re-winding where necessary.

This is my first flipped feedback attempt so I will be watching students’ reactions to it very closely and monitoring who downloads the video to watch.

 

Leave a Reply

 
