RSS

How to Use Google Classroom To Measure Progress

26 Nov

Screen Shot 2015-11-19 at 06.19.27Measuring progress in the English classroom is a real challenge. How do you evaluate the quality of a written response in a single lesson?

Well, I’ve discovered a method that the students have unanimously regarded as incredibly helpful: Live Feedback Sessions.

As a part of the ‘The Cycle’ (http://frontlineteacher.com/the-cycle-planning-marking-and-feedback/), I plan what I call Workshop Lessons, which are used to address problem areas in their writing that I’ve noticed while marking. Following this, the students respond by rewriting their work.

Yet, how can I make the most of my time and the lesson by evaluating their responses to my feedback?

I’ve started using Google Classroom for Live Feedback Sessions. In my department, we have Chromebooks so I reserve these for my class. I create an assignment and within that assignment students type out their responses to my guiding questions or to whatever follow-up task I’ve given them that…

View original post 135 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
